First Morning at the Lake

So, I’m up at the lake this morning, having driven over yesterday. It’s very strange being here without Willie, and I find myself thinking of him often. Oddly enough, when I went out to the lake yesterday, first thing, I noticed that a tennis ball had washed in from the other side and was bobbing in the icy water at the bottom of the boat slide. Had he been here he’d have seen it, pounced, and come up dripping and grinning, with that ball securely (but oh so softly held) in his sweet Lab mouth.

The work that HollyCornblog and CharlieHopbrew have done up here is truly amazing. When I arrived it was probably about 38° both inside and outside the house. I got the fire going, and it took quite a while to get things warmed up, but by dark it was probably about 68° inside, while the temp was dropping outside.

By the time I went to bed it was probably about 74° inside and I had to really bank the stove down. It got as low as 28° outside last night, but when I woke up it was 65° here inside – a tad warmer than it is downstairs at home in the morning!  (Hear that, Beeg!!!???)

The surprise, when I woke up, was a dusting of snow on the ground. In the past, that would’ve really scared me, as the house used to be so difficult to warm up, and keep warm. But seeing the snow this morning was merely interesting. I gaze outside and see that the wind is blowing pretty steadily and the sky is a steely November gray, but I don’t feel the least bit nervous about being comfortable in here as I read and write and think and ponder and reminisce.

So thanks, HollyCornblog and CharlieHopbrew! It’s amazing what you’ve accomplished. You’re right, I can’t really even hear the wind, though in daylight I can definitely SEE it. Oh, and I still hear the ghosts walking around upstairs – but not hearing the night sounds in the woods quite the way I used to … that’s a very good thing!

Another change up here this year is ongoing phone service/internet through the winter.  And the TV is still here and hooked up. It’s not really too much of a temptation (that TV – I’m not one to randomly watch – much more likely to randomly lose time on the internet). But I must say it was nice to settle in last night and watch the Chicago Miami game from the comfort of this cozy place.

Yeah, and my heart softened just a wee bit toward Jay Cutler, after learning that he’s managing diabetes while playing professional football. I still don’t like his attitude, but maybe I can have a little more compassion for it.  Poor Tyler Thigpen … rough outing for him!

Well, I believe it’s time to think about bringing in some wood and getting outside for a bit before settling in for some reading/writing. Happy Friday!

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First Morning at the Lake

  1. You could have had Kevin Kolb, too … had HollyCornblog not picked him up in a fit of … I dunno what!

    Like

  2. boltgirl says:

    Ooh. Hang on, let me run over and pick up Kerry Collins and Ryan Grant, posthaste.

    Like

  3. Sorry … I was going to post some but Pliny said ’til she sees you lose another game (or two) you’re cut-off. And she does own the rights to all windowsill pictures. I can tell you, though, they are every bit as wonderful as you’d imagine …

    Like

  4. boltgirl says:

    Where are the pictures of the windowsills? I was promised windowsill pictures.

    Like

  5. I love that thought, Karen …. thanks!

    Like

  6. Karen says:

    Hey Jord–I must confess that thoughts of Willie crossed my mind when I heard you had gone to the lake–how cool to see that tennis ball–he’s there, too!
    Glad to hear you’re all snuggly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

